Zonta in the 1970s

By 1974, there were 18 clubs in Australia and New Zealand and District 16 of Zonta International encompassing the two countries was formed. The main focus of the clubs was service and, in particular, the improvement of the status of women.

The club’s advocacy and service projects were:

  • support for the establishment of the Aboriginal Women’s Council – setting up a secretariat with practical and financial assistance
  • a seminar The Reality of Equality launching the International Year of Women in South Australia with 250 participants and opened by the governor, Sir Mark Oliphant
  • support for Service to Youth
  • support for the Prisoners’ Aid Council
  • assistance in the organisation of annual festivities for the SA Council for the Ageing
  • support for the Elsie Women’s Shelter
  • support for the development of posters and pamphlets for the Child and Home Safety Council
  • sponsorship of the YMCA Christmas camps
  • provision of a mechanical bed at St Lawrence Home
  • donated musical instruments to Townsend House. a school for blind and mute children
  • donation of four wheelchairs for the Spinda Bifida Association
  • provision of books and money for a project on Groote Eylandt to translate English literature into the local Aboriginal language
  • donation of $1,000 to the UNICEF Kampuchean Appeal
  • submissions to
    • the Premier of South Australia regarding the establishment of a Women’s Adviser
    • the Minister for Labour and Industry on the Rehabilitation Centre for Women
    • the Equal Opportunity Commission regarding simplifying and translating the Equal Opportunity Act into major languages in Australia
    • the Prime Minister regarding the appointment of a woman delegate to the UN Sessions on disarmament.

In 1977, Areas were established in District 16 and Heide Taylor from our club was elected as the first Area 2 Director. Area 2 covered what is now District 23, South Australia, Victoria, Tasmania, Western Australia and the Northern Territory.

Other significant events that occurred were:

  • an invitation to join the United Nations committee on the Status of Women in South Australia
  • the chartering of two new clubs in 1978 in the Adelaide metropolitan area: Para Districts Area and Fleurieu Peninsula Area
  • establishing an annual Citizens Award for primary school students

Club Presidents during this decade were: Althea Tebbutt. Irene Jeffries, Judith Hay, Heidi Taylor, Suzanne Dixon and Neila Foggo.